PANELBEATING BASICS

danger

When I came to this site I didn’t know shit. Almost a decade has passed and I’ve picked up a few things.

Figured I’d write an article with respect to basic panelwork from a back yard point of view.

Please bear in mind I am NOT A PROFESSIONAL and I’m 95% self taught with a few tips been shown to me by mates in the trade and youtube... Nobody has really corrected me before so I may have bad habits. I do not want to seem a “know-it-all” because I know I don’t.

Also, wear your safety gear. Pulling steel out of your eyes is shit and you’ll be subconsciously twice as motivated to keep working if you cut down the noise of grinding etc with earmuffs. Also I wear leather gloves while welding if I’m holding the panel and while doing steel fab work.

Feel free to add to this, contradict anything I say or tell me I’m doing stuff wrong.

There are too many different scenarios for me to try explain so I’m going to break it down into sections. I’ll start by going over the powertools I use, followed by hand tools, Then paint and prep products and hopefully I’ll finish with an example of a rust patch or something

BASIC POWER TOOLS

SANDER POLISHER

p1030741k.jpg

The one I use is a Chinese copy of a Makita 9227. Cost me a third of the price, uses Makita replacement motor brushes and hasn’t let me down yet. 1200w and variable speed.Cord pulled out once and the plastics a bit shit but I’m not complaining. Has an m14 thread for attachments. On it in the pic it has a wire cup brush. I use it for removing really thick patches of bog. I’ll detail its other uses below:

NYLON STRIP DISC (didn't have one at time of pic)

discsscotchbritetmclean.jpg

p1030730i.jpg