Aftermarket ECUs and stuff

Yowzer

Sooo...

Plans for an engine I have lying around involves building up a 5/7M-GTE (5M head, 7M block and turbo)

Obviously gonna need an aftermarket computer of some sort to get the most out of it, but I have very little knowledge of the ECU world.

Don't need anything overly flash and state of the art, but I do like features.

If those of you in the know can give me a rundown on some different systems and what they can do, (and a rough price) that would be mint.

Cheers

Sooo...

Plans for an engine I have lying around involves building up a 5/7M-GTE (5M head, 7M block and turbo)

Obviously gonna need an aftermarket computer of some sort to get the most out of it, but I have very little knowledge of the ECU world.

Don't need anything overly flash and state of the art, but I do like features.

If those of you in the know can give me a rundown on some different systems and what they can do, (and a rough price) that would be mint.

Cheers

I suspect fishtailfred will have some good input here.

www.diyefi.org

Yeah Link is what I was leaning towards.

Something with duel maps would be cool, one for cruise, one for towing/skids

this is what i would want .

like nissan ecu is pretty tunable but getting the writer and programme to do so . i dunno where .

must look into it more as i have 4 ca18de/t ecu's lying around

if you buy an old link (pre g3) make sure its setup for your engine. else will have to be sent back to link to be reconfigured. if they even still do this?

dont really need duel map. if tuned right one tune will do cruise towing skids, with no compromise

an old g1 lem link will run it no worries. v5 was the last of the lem links, the earlyer the version the less features they had. and map resolution was smaller

g3 and g4 links are a big step up from the g1 stuff. they are software configurable to suit any engine also, so dont have to be sent back to link if its been setup on a different engine