Help needed with some drive belt magic

Flash

I'm busy experimenting to see how easy it would be to fit a power steering pump to my Toyota 3Y engine using a single drive belt setup.

I've seen Sheepers and others do some magic with drive belts, but this is my first attempt so I'd really appreciate some guidance.

Looking at the trial mock-up pic below I'm guessing that I would need to fit either an idler or a tensioner pulley (or perhaps both) in order to get this setup to work, but I'll need some help in determining what I need and where it needs to be positioned.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

20200908_114733.jpg

• Like 1

I don't like your chances of getting enough wrap on the crank pulley, and if you can the belt life is going to be compromised. Well unless you shifted the power steer to where the dizzy is.. 

I would multi belt that setup with one belt for alt, and water pump and one for the p/s. 

• Like 1

Yep I was originally looking at running the ZF electro pump out of a BMW Mini Cooper, but I'm also intending to fit a 12 volt a/c setup and I figured I'd need to run a huge alternator to deliver the kind of amps to feed both the electric a/c and  power steer pump.

Take a look at MR2 electric power steer pumps.

Regarding problems with alternator supply capacity, depending on how good you are with electrics you could potentially make a switching relay that disables the A/C pump when the power steering is being used.

Or perhaps consider using a yaris electric power steering system (not hydraulic). They just go in the steering column.

I think holden astra had electric pump for power steering too, could be easier to find in australia?

• Thanks 1

Thanks for the options ajg193.

I have given my options quite a bit of thought up to this point.