External wastegates- I have questions...

yoeddynz

Hello,

I have this setup on my elford turbo 12a that's going into my HB viva.

131220103066.jpg

I'm a newbie when it comes to turbos so some questions....

I will have to make a new manifold to move the turbo forwards to clear the brake servo and master. The WG that is fitted could be moved but apart from the fact its quite bulky I dont know that it is a very good design compared to the new type of poppit WG's. Where would be a good place to buy a external WG, what size and can I buy a flange to suit said WG that I can then weld to my new manifold.

What other things do I consider when building the manifold- I have been told to keep the turbo as close as possible to block. Also to site WG as close to centre of manifold- ie just under turbo in centre. The elford as standard runs at 5psi. Are there basic WG's out there that have springs set for that low a pressure? Are there WG's out there that are easily adjustable without a adjustable bleed screw ie maybe some sort of nut adjustment on the diaphragm spring?

Can I get a manifold flange for the turbo - its a garret air research T3. Where?

Edit:...

I found this in a quick search..

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing ... ermanent=0

It seems OK. About as cheap as I expect these things must get? I fully realise that you get what you pay for but I cant imagine one of these working worse than the old cast affair thats bolted to the existing manifold. As long as it opens at 5Psi i'm happy.

Advice please.

cheers

alex

yeah that is a pretty terrible wastegate mounting. if you thing about it the exhaust gasses are flowthing through the turbo and then when you want to vent them they have to go in the other direction to get out of the wastegate - it will work, but it wont be nearly as effective as if the wastegate was mounted at the same end of the manifold next to the turbo entry.