Engine tech

cute wee gem

I know the basics pretty much, matching manifolds etc.

I look at a modern 16v pent roof styled head and have no idea what to do other than smooth/match, my only tool being a die grinder what could I do to improve this kind of head (not looking at engineering something epic as I don't have the tools but feel free to add any info anyway) only thing I can think of that may be able to be improved is valve shroud.

Singh grooves seems like an interesting topic but seems to be a lot of debate into whether they really do fuck all or not? - any experience? Feel free to talk about anything head tech in here as its all interesting to me. Piston/crown design etc, throw it in.

I'm new to this shit so fluid dynamics etc is too complicated for me. Any tips much appreciated, I'm not too worried if I fuck it up and make less power or even make fuck all more for hours of work, just keen to give a few idea's a shot.

Port and chamber finishes? I used 150g sand paper for a final finish on the ports, is polishing the actual chambers going to actually do fuck all?

Port shaping has me lost aswell.

Edit: add manifold design and taper throttle/runner length etc in here. All I know is longer generally means for low rpm/long for high and so on.

in the combustion chambers, id remove any pointy bits. deshield the valves if required/ possible, but try not to cut out the squish areas.

ports. tidy them up. check for bumps behind the valves where seats have been machined, 4ages have some nasty ones there. in the exhaust ports, you can possibly sharpen the divider into a point, were the gasses from each valve merge. match to manifolds etc.

wouldn't bother fucking with it too much more than that unless you find someone that really knows there shit about that particular head.