Overwhelmed and about to start a project

Bigfun

Hi everyone.. long time lurker here.

Bought a 76 mini couple months back. Wanting to start getting it rust free. Only problem I think is that it is my commuter as well. Is it realistic for me to start grinding away finding rust while still needing it every day to get to work?

Also, I have never done anything like this before... but I just love my mini and want to get it looking nice. THought I would start grinding underneath, then work my way along the fenders and such. After grinding paint away where I think the rust is, hit it with some primer and carry on.... This sound about right?

Any help suggestions etc would be appreciated for this first time noob.. thanks heaps

having tried doing this with my 910 i would say dont bother mang .. its alwasy a rush to get it ready for the next day and you end up doing the job shit .

just drive it till you can get a daily and then park up and take the time to do things properly .

Well after some thought about the responses here.. thought I would be better off maybe getting a pushbike for the summer and putting it up in my garage. Thing is I have never done this before. You guys have such great info.. thanks for the tips thus far.

Question:

Is it worth stripping down and getting it bead blasted? Then getting in there where it needs bog, rust repair etc? My main goal would be to get the car rust free (best I can .. not looking for showroom quality really) and sealed so I can drive it over winter and finish it off then. I do have 3 kids so time isn't necessarily on my side.. I do enjoy seeing them grow up :)

IMO it sounds to me for your situation a complete stripdown wouldn't be ideal, you will find allot of hidden rust and it could become a massive job very quickly. Getting all the panels straight again also.

I would just repair areas that are obvious have rust and give her a light strip down and fresh spray.