HumberSS buys complicated Mercedes 4wds so you don't have to

HumberSS

So for a great many years I have harboured a dirty (not so) secret, kinda like knowing Justin Timberlake lyrics, or picking your nose and eating it. Cept Mercedes...

So about 20 years back I painted cars for a living, did 6 years in a shop in central wellington and of course there was a constant stream of mercs that came through the doors. What always impressed me was how they would often have 2-400+ kms on them and they were always fastidiously maintained. We ran a few 190e's as shop cars and they got the jandal day in day out. The boss was a drag racer so beating on the shop car was highly encouraged. 

Fast forward about 15 years and my dearly departed old man was looking for a replacement for his second Hilux surf. Didn't want to pay the stupid asking prices to go surf again and was a bit unimpressed with the capability, and high parts prices of them, so brought himself the venerable and highly underrated W163 Ml270cdi on a whim (yes believe it or not Toyota tax exceeds Merc tax). OM612 5 cylinder, common rail successor to the om605/6 format. Slapped some muds on it and started treating it with the usual disdain he did of every vehicle. He ran a rural services business, so it saw a lot of farm work. After 2 years it wasn't broken and had cracked 400km so he brought a v8 one for his missus and another diesel one for my brother who was working for him. Those ones also didn't break much. Usual boring shit like the odd ball joint, or dicky Merc electric window switch. But otherwise given death and shown little remorse. 

So I inherited the one my bro was driving and continued not to care for it. It really didn't mind. We ran a business cleaning water troughs for a bit and we never had to get towed out.