Rt84 corona project

Guest Corona_man

Guest Corona_man

Iv decided to start a build thread on my 1973 RT84 corona. This is my first build thread and its going to be slow as I'm full time at polytech, and don't get a lot of time to work on it. I bought it off trademe from down in Christchurch, and got it shipped up to tauranga. It's got a lot of rust all through it and panels arnt the best. Interior is rough but all the exterior and interior trim is there, just missing the chrome sill strip that runs along the bottom on both sides. Some people won't agree with this part but that's your opinion haha. I'm putting a 12a rotary in it. I'll post updates as I slowly progress

Project discussion

//oldschool.co.nz/index.php?/topic/37351-my-rt84-12a-corona/

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Corona_man

ni2hmxmu.jzr.jpg

Taking the motor out. engine bay is going to need a big tidy up

yabk3fld.2sd.jpg

wnl1jqn3.erz.jpg

Fitting the new 12a in. Bit of a mission getting in in,over the radiator support

Guest Corona_man

i have the 12a sitting in there but there is no way enough room in the gearbox tunnel. I was hoping i would fit it in there with no cutting but thats not going to happen haha. iv had to cut the top the the gearbox tunnel off.

It was abit of a mission getting all the original underseal off the floor. after about half n hour of pissing around with a hammer and screw driver, i found a much easier way. i had a old air hammer gun lieing around in the dust,gave that a whirl and it ripped it off in a few minuites.

rivfr5fo.enw.jpg

xgvkwxtr.y1r.jpg

Guest Corona_man

So i cut the tunnel and got it sitting in place with the jack and couple of bits of wood. iv got heaps of photos but it takes awhile taking them off my ipad and transfering them to the computer, then uploading them on here. if anyone knows how i can upload to this forum,straight from my ipad that will help heaps.

awxfwp1q.ffk.jpg