RWD4G62NZ: 1981 Mitsubishi Celeste Turbo.

RWD4G62NZ

I'm fairly new to these forums so hopefully I have done this correctly.

I've been building up my 1981 Mitsi Celeste for about 18 months now. When I brought it for $400 she was running the std 4G32 that was using more oil than gas, but she was real straight with good paint and in original nick.

celeste003kq4.jpg

A couple of months later I pulled the old donk out and slotted a 4G37 1.8L into her. This engine with it's eletronic dizzy and extractors made more torque and revs and turned it into a completly different car!

dscf0428fc6.jpg

Funny how things turn up when you least expect them isn't it??? I had been disgussing with a mate about the possibility of stuffing a 4G63BT from a Starion into the Celeste when a crashed 1985 1.8L Turbo Cordia came into my position for the meagre sum of $150. Body was stuffed but engine,Turbo, loom, ECU pretty much all mechanicals were mint. My mind was made up to use the 1.8 rather than finding a 2L as apart from a bit more stroke to get the other 200cc the 2 engines are almost identical.

Took a bit of stuffing around with flywheels, starion engine mounts and manifolds but she was in and running well. The old TC06 turbo was a bit tired and smoked a bit but apart from that she ran 10psi and was bloody quick!!!!

celesteturbo001ca0.jpg

Found a cheap set of 15" mags so she diddn't have to run on the 13inch cookie cutters any more but it was always my intention to get some hotties or modgies before too long. Decided she badly needed suspention attention too so gave it the treatment with new gas struts all round and low kings in the front and 2" blocks in the arse. Really stiffnd up the ride and got rid of the 25+ year old bodyroll!

celesteturbo003pa9.jpg