Kerry-TGI

KerryTGIs 1988 Hilux

If you are looking to buy a welder for panel work, as with any tool, buy the best one you can afford. 

I am only learning to weld at the moment, I started trying probably a couple of years ago and I had a cheap Bunnings welder, and could not get it to do even half decent welds. Someone better than me almost definitely could have made it do good welds, but as a learner I just couldn't get it to do what I wanted. It was enough to make me stop trying for a while honestly.  
Now that I have a good machine, it makes learning 1,000,000x easier. It is easy to adjust settings etc with amperage, wire feed speed, gas coverage etc, they are all continuously variable and you can make fine adjustments, not just 1-5 or whatever it was on my cheap one.

Mine was fairly spendy for a home use machine at $1500 but is multi process (stick, H/F tig and MIG/MAG) but even the difference between a $200 welder and a $4-500 welder is huge. 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, WhangareiKE70 said:

Mine was fairly spendy for a home use machine at $1500 but is multi process (stick, H/F tig and MIG/MAG) but even the difference between a $200 welder and a $4-500 welder is huge. 

What welder is it, I've been looking at multi-process machines lately too.

On 07/02/2019 at 10:56, Raizer said:

What welder is it, I've been looking at multi-process machines lately too.

I am mind blanking at the moment, I will come back and edit this when I remember/look it up, not at home right now. 

EDIT: @Raizer this is it here.

https://www.chevpac.co.nz/catalogue/page/mig-welders_WOR_S236_C457/mig-welder-200a-mig-mag-1ph-multi-mig-wd-mig200m_WMG100120?p=1

Was sceptical at first as it was not 'name brand', but have used it plenty now and has been a good machine. Only used MIG so far as I haven't gotten around to buying an Argon bottle just yet.

On 07/02/2019 at 10:59, Kerry-TGI said:

I was looking at a bunnings one, this one